REFLECTIONS ON ‘SKYLIGHT’*

Stained glass skylight in Church of the Holy T...

Stained glass skylight in Church of the Holy Trinity, Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My own hovel being cleaned out,
a new life laid out for me
except I don’t yet see.
I must trust in this skylight
that has opened up –
this window on the world
setting me free.
I can now see
the life in this death
before me.

Why resist these little dyings?
It’s time to
step out of my skin.

*by Seamus Heaney

©Millicent Danker
15 January 2010

Leave a Reply

