ONE FOGGY WINTER MORNING IN LONDON

English: Crowds shopping at Borough market, so...

Crowds shopping at Borough market, south London (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Outside my single-bed window
It’s a foggy winter morning in London
Is this the same town I went to bed in?
It was sunny yesterday, a T-shirt day;
Now I can barely see the Victorian terrace up the pathway

Grey hurt my eyes so I recoil
From the cold window pane
I think of layers to wear, cashmere
This is Sunday – this is so unfair!
Surely I’d be forgiven for not doing church in this weather …

Sharp smells from the Borough Market
Waft to recent memory
Sausages roasting, thick coffee brewing,
A vat of saffron paella smoking
Tourists gawking, tasting; everyone hawking

Bacon, eggs and a tin o’ beans
Frying up brings some warmth
if oily odour to a dense boudoir
I park in front of the telly: tea mug in hand, jammas smelly
Today the door bell won’t ring for sure.

© Millicent Danker
10 March 2013

One thought on “ONE FOGGY WINTER MORNING IN LONDON

Leave a Reply

