SLOWLY, SOFTLY

English: Saltoun Big Wood. One of the largest ...

Saltoun Big Wood. One of the largest forest blocks in East Lothian, and a very pleasant place to walk. Has a reputation of being one of the toughest orienteering areas in Scotland, but walking slowly avoids the worst of the brambles. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Slow me down, O Lord!

Slow down the furious race

The frenzied frazzled pace

The chaos of my days

 

The machinations of 21st century life

The monster of this life

The loss of my life.

Slow me down, O My God!

 

Will that I take you walking

A little pathway with foliage above

Will that we hear the singing

The flutters from your treasure trove

 

When I touch your earth so bare

I learn to softly, softly be

And feel the tenderness in your air

And know that in the slow, I am me.

 

© Millicent Danker

31 July 2009 / 21 May 2013

Leave a Reply

