ODE TO MY LAND [Negara-Ku]

Lindernia crustacea (Malaysian False Pimpernel)

Lindernia crustacea (Malaysian False Pimpernel) (Photo credit: bob in swamp)

O my land, my homeland
milk-and-honey land
now only bankrupt barren-ness
belie the crown jewel.

O my land, my homeland
God-given birthland
bereft of moral compasses
consumed by demigods.

Who speaks for the people?
The voiceless public
The democratic
who must go underground
to find what platforms abound?

What manner of governance?
How foolish the actions
of despotic factions?
What must break down
before a world frowns?

O my land, my homeland
where barbaric rhetoric
appeals to none
brings pure gloom.

O my land, my homeland
much troubled birthland
falling to doom.

©Millicent Danker
28 February 2013

Leave a Reply

