I am mad with Love

English: Mirabai Museum at Merta City in Nagau...

English: Mirabai Museum at Merta City in Nagaur district (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“O friends, I am mad with love, and no one sees.

My mattress is a sword-point, how can I sleep

when the bed of my Beloved is spread open elsewhere?

Only those who have felt the knife can understand the wound,

Only the jeweller knows the nature of the Jewel.

I have lost it, and though anguish takes me door to door, no doctor answers.

Mira calls her Lord: O Dark One,

Only You can heal this pain.”

[Mirabai, 1498-1547]

Leave a Reply

