RESOLUTIONS

1st print from William Blake's Illustrations o...

1st print from William Blake’s Illustrations of the Book of Job (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I asked for more god
a slowed life;
retreats helped
but not enough
he hid his face from
me

I asked for more god
a halt to sadness
lick of earthly sweetness
but disease struck
a breast was taken from
me

I asked for more god
a new land
like Abraham
on which to plant a family tree for
me

I ask for more god
still, I do not stop
asking
knowing he scorned Job
this same god now ignores
me

A year later
I ask some more

 

Millicent Danker

1 January 2010

Leave a Reply

