Ever at my bedside

English: The face of a black windup alarm clock

English: The face of a black windup alarm clock (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Click-clock tick-tock tock-tock clock-crock
softly at first then with nightfall
your rhythm is ever more audible
you become even more insistent, awfully strident

plip-plop flip-flop clip-clop trick-clock

I can’t get you out of my ears
my hair my face my fears
buried in feathery pillows

pulsating bedside guardian
of my sleep
waiting to pounce in shock alarm
time and time as I lie
dreaming the deep warm folds of the morning in my mother’s squishy womb

you bring me, jarringly, to life

Millicent Danker

Leave a Reply

